Grant A Larsen Scholarship

The Grant A. Larsen scholarship encourages excellence among Sexuality Studies MA students actively conducting study or research in the area of LGBT studies. Grant Larsen was an architect and city planner in San Francisco who was instrumental in the development of the BART system and held a deep commitment to university students having access to gay and lesbian studies.


The applicant must be a second year full-time graduate student in good standing in the Sexuality Studies Master of Arts Program. Furthermore, the applicant must have a 3.0 grade point average, and be actively conducting a study or research in the area of LGBT studies. The applicant must prepare a two page-statement of purpose. This document will be examined by the scholarship committee to determine the merit of the application. Please note that it is the responsibility of the applicant to determine the impact of this award on their financial aid and taxable income status. The scholarship will be disbursed in the spring semester.

Inquiries: Thao Pham, Department of Sexuality Studies, HSS 370

Current Awardees

2018-2019 Brandon Igarta

Past Awardees

  • 2016-2017 Nick Newton
  • 2014-2015 Meghan Smith
  • 2013-2014 Gil Francisco
  • 2010-2011 Casey Peterson
  • 2009-2010 Julia Palm
  • 2008-2009 Matthew Stief
  • 2007-2008 Kathleen Hentz
  • 2006-2007 Trevor Hoppe